top of page

Hunting with a Newborn

Hunting with a newborn is no joke. It takes A LOT of patience, positivity and realization that the hunt is going to be harder. You are carrying around an extra 7-12 {or more} pounds of baby which is physically exhausting in itself, but you also have to remember you are healing and healing takes time. You just had a baby, no matter the delivery process, it takes a number on your body.

You aren't going to be fast at climbing mountains, you definitely won't have as much energy after being up feeding baby, you may need to ask for help, and you probably won't be able to carry the normal weight of your pack. But I promise, it WILL feel great to be hunting again!

A month after our daughter was born I had a Limited Opportunity Any Elk Tag which meant I was going hunting. I wanted to get back out to challenge myself, I needed to do it for me! I also had to keep a positive mind set, my hunt was really hard but I kept at it, although in the end I do not have an animal to show for my hard work I do have the memories and mindset. If I can hike mountains and miles a month after a c-section, I can do anything!!

With that, here is my MUST haves for hunting/camping with a newborn!

1. A Carrier: Obviously you have to get them from point A to point B and carrying is not an option. I use the K'Tan which I strongly recommend. She fits perfectly and its easy to use! You know those wrap ones that are the trend....when you are hunting you don't have time for that. This is a pre-wrapped wrap and its just the BEST! Bonus: Ridgley falls asleep almost every time we are hiking. My husband has a Mission Critical which works great now that she is older but we originally couldn't use it because she was so small.

2. Bassinet: Whether you are in a tent or trailer your babe is going to need a place to sleep. For us, co-sleeping was not an option so we opted for a lightweight bassinet that is easy to travel with. The Brica folds up and is small enough to fit anywhere. Ridgley knows this is her bed when we are not home since we have used it since day one and falls asleep perfectly in it anywhere!

3. Warm Jumpsuit & Jammies: First time we went out I brought pants, onesies, socks and wow was it annoying! We kept losing socks and changing her was annoying with so many articles of clothing! So don't learn the hard way, just bring one piece jammies where their feet are covered. Because it was winter I also bought a warm jumpsuit at a second hand store and we have used it SO much, its was about three sizes too big but worked great. Bring at least two extra sets of clothes because babies are messy!!

4. Beanies & Hats: You don't want their little ears to get cold on the mountain or outside in general! If its really sunny I also suggest a little hat with strings to be able to keep it on their head. The one in the picture is made by Cozy's but since then I have come to love June & January's pom beanies.

5. Nursing Cover: Besides the obvious reasons of covering yourself while nursing I am also suggesting it for the protection from wind! It always seems to be windy on top of mountains no matter how calm it is. I highly recommend the Milk Snob, it is extra long, wonderful fabric, doesn't stretch out and can be used for a blanket or car seat cover while out.

6. A comfortable light weight pack: I used so many different packs this season because of my c-section! My father in law found me one FINALLY, a Timber Ridge pack at CAL Ranch that works perfectly! Find one that fits you great and has room to carry your sweet babes stuff. My next post will be what I carry in my pack!

7. Ear Muffs: Protect your little ones ears! We have Em's for Ridgley; we were sighting in a gun while she was sleeping and the noise didn't even wake her.

8. Medical Goodies: Our first trip out I was so unprepared when she got sick and felt like a terrible mom. It only takes once before you learn what you need! My quick list: Thermometer, Saline, Nose Frida {literally the best invention}, Tylenol, Gripe Water, Boogie Wipes, Baby Q-Tips, Nail Clippers, Belly Band Washcloths, and soap.

9. Blankets Galore: You can never have enough blankets and if your child is like mine, a blanket monster, you need them all! I typically bring five blankets of various thicknesses. This way we are covered for all weather, misplacing, and dirty situations. A couple of our favorite blankets are from Sweet Ellie Sue, Aden & Anais, The Coral Cottage, and Lou Lou & Co.

10. Small toys/Binky: It never fails that they get fussy at the worst times! Besides bouncing, a small toy or binky is great for distraction when they get fussy especially when you are hiking. As they get older a variety of toys is better so they don't get bored. We also started bringing Ridgley her Kick and Play Piano at two months for in the trailer because its small and portable.

Depending on where you are hunting this list may change but remember you are learning and will not always be prepared! Enjoy every moment, those memories will last a lifetime especially when you tell your child they went hunting at only a few months old.

bottom of page