top of page

Where is your husband?

If I had a quarter for every time someone asked me that question, I would be rich. It never fails that all our events happen when Dillon has to guide a hunt which means questions galore for me. By now I think I have an answer for every possible question that could be asked. From the easiest, "where is he?" to the hardest "how do you do that, I wouldn't be able to survive if my husband left for so long." Or the occasional, "what does he do again?"

Each time my answer is a little different but always the same. He is here, guiding this person, trying to fill their tag for this animal. Guiding is Dillons passion, I knew what I was getting into when I said "I do" and couldn't imagine him doing anything else. Quite frankly, he would be absolutely miserable sitting behind a desk everyday. As hard as it is on us, to have him gone, it is so much better than dealing with a miserable husband. We had lengthy conversations about him guiding as a career before we were married and we continue to have those conversations. We are always on the same page when it comes to his career, it may be his passion but it's our life.

Guiding hunts is a hard industry, building up clients, your name, and respect in order to be successful. People truly don't understand and its really hard to explain. Most people assume he just goes out to kill an animal, not quite how it works. It's cleaning, prepping, booking clients, packing, setting up camp, scouting, hiking for days, guiding, hopefully harvesting an animal, processing, cleaning up camp and then coming home to get ready to do it all over. When he is home he is constantly talking to clients, updating his website and getting ready for the next hunt. Its not a career that just anybody can do, well technically anyone can do it but it is pretty hard to be successful if you don't have the knowledge and drive.

God blessed Dillon with an incredible talent for hunting and he loves using that talent to help others fulfill their hunting dreams. He finds just a much joy in his client killing the animal of their dreams as he would himself. If you ask him about hunting, be prepared to talk for hours. If you don't understand hunting, he will enlighten you on all the rules and regulations. He will tell you story after story about his hunting adventures with family and clients. He truly is remarkable at what he does and works incredibly hard to make it work for our family. People don't understand how I do it, I am not going to lie and say its easy. It takes a lot of prayer, patience, time with family and friends, and projects to pass the time. This lifestyle is not for everyone. I said "I do" to Dillon, my husband, the hunter, the guide, and hunting fanatic. I will love him if he is standing by my side or 300 miles away, my husband is where he is supposed to be.

PS. If you haven't visited his website, you should visit it or at least go watch the videos, www.chasentheking.com.

bottom of page